Northern Cape

About Destination

The Northern Cape forms part of the 9 provinces in South Africa. It is considered to be the largest and the most sparsely populated province in South Africa, with its capital being Kimberly. It was established in 1994, when the Cape province was split up. The split saw the birth of 2 other provinces; the Western Cape to the south and the Eastern Cape to the southeast.

The province is home to more than 1, 000 San inhabitants, who migrated from Namibia, following the independence of the country. During the South African Border War, the San had served as trackers and scouts for the South African Defence Force. In 1999, the Mandela administration, awarded the Sans with a settlement in Platfointein. Today, the provinces precolonial history is reflected in its rich and mainly stone, archaeological heritage. Cave sites include the, Wonderwerk Cave, near Kuruman, which has a uniquely long sequence stretching from the turn of the 20th century.

The Kalahari Gemsbok National park and a part of the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park are part of the many parks that offers locals and visitors with an opportunity to get up-close and personal with the province’s wildlife. The Big Hole is a popular tourist attraction in Kimberly. It is a historical place, which is a hand dug diamond mine in the capital.

Take a trip down memory lane at the McGregor Museum, with its beautifully curated exhibition of the provinces natural and cultural history. The William Humphreys Art Gallery boasts with various European masterpieces. The Mokala National Park offers visitors an opportunity to experience endangered species such as, the Cape buffalo, black rhino and the roan antelope.

End your trip off at the Ritchersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape, which is also a UNESCO heritage site. The landscape boasts in numerous mountains and plains in a remote setting.